I am not normal

November 25, 2008

Last year when I went to the optometrist and as a part of the examination, he performed a dilated fundus exam which involves dilating my pupils and putting some kind of dye in my eye. I don’t know. What I do know is that I didn’t like it, started to panic and then I blacked out. In the optometrist office.

So anyway I had another appointment on Friday because my intention was to get contacts in time for my office Christmas party. My sexy French-from-France optometrist and his smart glasses tried to convince me to go through the dilated fundus exam again, which I politely declined in an effort to avoid face-planting on the carpet again.

Nearly two hours later, I walked out of the optometrist’s office all red eyed and tired from poking my eyeball over and over until lens finally eased in.

Last night I got them in for the first time on my own and a few seconds later, I felt sheer panic. I popped an Ativan and then it was all gravy. Something tells me that’s not really normal and that maybe I’m not a good candidate for contacts.

Anyway.

How many of you guys wear contacts and how long did it take you to get used to them?

3 Responses to “I am not normal”

  1. rachel Says:

    oh dude i hate the pupil dilation. for this ophthalmology workshop at school last year, they dilated all of us, except they only did one eye each, so we all looked like a bunch of fucking psychos with one huge pupil and one normal one.

    unsurprisingly, i wear glasses.

  2. terry Says:

    you are way weird!!!!

    it didn’t take long at all to get used to them. it was, however, kinda like breaking in a new pair of shoes. I only whore them for a few hours at a time before I started wearing them all day long.

  3. Louis J. Says:

    I”ve had contacts since 99, and it took me 1 day to get used to them. Now the new uber flexible disposable ones are even better.


Leave a Reply

