Neigh!

November 6, 2008

I’ve picked up a frustrating new habit. I misplace my glasses and then can’t find them because I can’t see shit without them. It’s been happening with distressing frequency lately. This morning, I nearly hurled myself out the window because I couldn’t find them for the life of me. My work day was not pleasant. I changed my screen resolution to 1280 X 1024 from 1920 X 1200 and pulled my monitor so close to my face that my nose was practically touching the screen and I still had to strain. I had a migraine by lunch.

That’s not the only ridiculous thing to happen to me at work this week.  Yesterday, I was standing around in a coworker’s office with another person – just standing there – when something felt like it was giving way beneath me. Turns out, the heel on my newish boots had broken off. Maybe if I had been doing the 50m dash on cobblestone streets, or scaling up the side of rocky cliff, it would make sense, but nooo. Of course, everyone had a laugh at my expense – not that I expected otherwise.

I have never in my twenty-six years on this earth, seen a woman’s high heel just break like that. I’d seen it in movies, read about it in magazines… and figured that it never actually happened. Well homies, it happens. My male, fifty-something coworker grabs my foot and starts trying to straighten out the screws with a pair of scissors. I felt like this:

Anyway, in the end, I had to hobble out to my car where I had luckily kept an extra pair of shoes.

I wonder what tomorrow has in store for me.

Leave a Reply

